Connect with us

Lagos Assembly reinstates suspended lawmakers


Lagos Assembly reinstates suspended lawmakers

The Lagos State House of Assembly on Thursday lifted the suspension it earlier placed on two of its lawmakers, Moshood Oshun and Raheem Kazeem.

Nig News reports that the Assembly had on March 9, 2020 suspended Hon. Moshood Oshun (Lagos Mainland Constituency 2) and Hon. Kazeem Raheem Adewale (Ibeju-Lekki Constituency 2) over what it described as gross misconduct, insubordination and actions capable of destabilizing the House.

The Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, who announced their reinstatement at the start of Thursday’s plenary at the floor of the House, explained that it took the intervention of the Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC) and the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, to resolve the impasse and get the lawmakers reinstated.

He said, “The GAC and the National Leader of APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu called a meeting earlier in the week to intervene in the matter. It was agreed at the meeting that the House should reinstate the suspended lawmakers.”

Apart from the two suspended members, the House had removed two principal officers: Hon. Rotimi Abiru and Hon. Olumuyiwa Jimoh as Chief Whip and deputy Majority Leader respectively and had since been replaced by new officers that emerged after the lawmakers unanimously elected them.

Hon. Noheem Adams (Eti-Osa constituency I), was elected the new Deputy Majority Leader while Hon. Mojisola Lawal-Meranda (Apapa constituency I), emerged the new Chief Whip.

Prior to their election, Hon. Noheem was the chairman of the committee on Public-Private Partnerships while Hon. Meranda was in charge of committee on Job Creation.

The post Lagos Assembly reinstates suspended lawmakers appeared first on Nig News.

Source:Nig News

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics

To Top